The MDA (Media Development Authority) has recently introduced a new set of classifications, which took effect as of March 29th, 2004. The old classifications consisted of G, PG, NC16 & R (A). While in the new system, G, PG and NC16 remained, R (A) was modified, and a whole new category, M18, was added.

G: Stands for General, and means just that. General.

PG: Stands for exactly what it means. Parental Guidance.

NC16: No children below 16 years of age.

M18: Mature 18 is for mature audiences over 18 years of age.

R21: Restricted to those over 21 years of age.

Video's which are distributed in Singapore are only classified up to M18.

Some of the terminology used in association with the actual classification include the following:

Clean: Passed without cuts.

CE: Edited version is passed without any cuts.

PWC: Passed with cuts.

E: Exempted.

NR: Not recommended.

Related Links:

Media Development Authority (MDA)